7033 Brookfield Plaza Springfield, VA 22150

Reviews

Review us on:
Lily C.
Miami Beach, FL
4/17/2016
The food was really good and portion is very generous! It came out within 10min of ordering!

Con: some workers do not speaker English
Katie S.
Leesburg, VA
4/9/2016
I've always came for their Banh Xeo, even before they moved to this bigger location. Banh Xeo will typically not fill you up if you have a big appetite. Order one to share as an apps for 2. Their Banh Xeo is crunchy, which I haven't found any other places that makes it remotely better. You can taste the coconut, which makes it amazing. The meat is sliced thinly and cooks wonderfully. There were like 7 or 8 shrimps in my Banh Xeo so they definitely don't hold out.

The service is dependent on who's serving you, which is common in Vietnamese/Asian restaurant. The younger guys there are very polite. Food comes out pretty fast.

I sometimes order their bun bo hue too but this restaurant wouldn't be the "go to place" for it. It's ok. The broth is a little on the sweet side. It's spicy, which is how it should be but lacks the other spices that makes bun no hue what it is. The meat is typically well cooked.
Cee K.
Seven Corners, VA
4/6/2016
I've always thought of Hai Duong as a 3 star restaurant. The spot you go to in Eden if you didn't know what to eat. That was the case until I tried their grilled chicken.

Their Ga Nuong grilled chicken is in a league of its own. I don't know what they marinate it with, but the taste is 5 star! You can order it with rice which is called "Com Ga Nuong" or with Vermicelli noodles which is called "Bun Ga Nuong". Both are the same price at about $8. Their other menu items are 3 star at best. I've tried their pho which was bland. Their banh xeo is crispy, which I like, but it barely has enough meat to fill you up. I'd say their com tam rice dishes would be my second choice here. I give them a lot of credit though for upholding such a vast menu. Their cooks must go crazy on the busy weekends.

Overall, 5 star for the Ga Nuong and 3 star for the other dishes. Really tasty chicken for under 10 bucks!
Beck E.
Saint Louis, MO
12/27/2015
This is one of my favorite restaurants in Eden Center. My family has been going here for years, and the food has always been very good. The hen xao xuc banh da (baby clams with rice cracker) I had last Thursday was one of the best dishes I'd eaten in a long time. The bun cha Ha Noi (one of the vermicelli dishes) was also really good.

I also had the banh xeo, which was good, but I thought the coconut flavor was too strong. Probably just being too picky because it didn't taste exactly like how my mom made it when I was growing up. :)

Major plus--the bun cha ca (vermicelli with fish cake) came with mam tom (fermented shrimp paste), which I think most restaurants these days are shying away from because people less familiar with Vietnamese cuisine are put off by the smell. Kudos to Hai Duong for keeping their flavors authentic and not toning down the spices.

In short, the food here is the real deal and comes out fast.
Christina P.
Arlington, VA
2/11/2016
Best overall sit down place in Eden Center. Not only do they make the most consistent bowl of pho (their broth is more on the savory rather than sweet scale), but their banh xeo is off the chain good. It's crispy with a subtle coconut sweet taste that goes great with the fish sauce accompaniment.

To boot, Hai Duong's service is efficient even when it's a busy Sunday lunch hour. The place is kept clean and tables are wiped down. Also, this is one of the few places in Eden Center that takes Visa + Mastercard which makes me happy as I never seem to keep enough cash on me.
Patrick T.
Washington, DC
11/22/2015
Food is good and comes out fast. Like really fast. My cousin had to leave so we asked for her com bo luc lac to be out quick. It was a matter of a couple of minutes. crazy!

Never had the pho, but their other entrees are tasty and like I said, come out fast!

Except the com hen which takes a long time to heat up the metal bowl and get the rice crisp. This wait is totally worth it though. mmmm
Pegah Y.
Washington, DC
12/29/2015
My fiancé and I braved the crowded parking lot at the Eden Center in Falls Church to get some delicious Vietnamese food at Hai Duong recently. The restaurant is very casual and is very brightly-lit. We both ordered our recent obsession - the vermicelli noodle bowls! My fiancé ordered the Bun Hai Duong noodles, which came with grilled pork, shrimp, shredded pork & crispy spring roll. I've been obsessed with grilled beef vermicelli bowls recently, so I ordered the Bun Bo Nuong noodle with grilled beef. Sooo delicious! My only minor complaint is that though the service is efficient, it wasn't the friendliest on the night we visited. And my fiancé had to ask for a fork a few times. But other than that, AMAZING food! We will certainly be back!
Khoi N.
Arlington, VA
4/5/2016
This is one of my new favorite Eden spots lately. I've been here twice the last month. They consistently serve you quick, authentic, well seasoned Vietnamese food. I had the Bun Bo Hue here and it was great. Seasoned with enough spice and the veggies for one person were very generous. They did not skimp on any meat and there was a lot of coagulated blood. A plus anytime you get BBH! My co worker had the grilled pork on rice. He's usually very picky about the way his meat is seasoned and he said the pork was cooked well with enough flavor. We ordered our food and it came out in less than 5 minutes. I was a bit worried if the food was just laying around, but the chef assured us that we ordered the common items and they are easy to prepare. I've been to there sister location Pho Hai Duong in Annandale and I'm also a fan of there service and consistent food. There are many other Vietnamese food options in the area, but if you don't want to over pay and get authentic dishes I'd come here. It's usually less crowded and you'll be seated rather quickly. You can't go wrong with any of the vermicelli, soup or rice dishes here.
Chris C.
Washington, DC
1/25/2016
Best Pho Place in Eden Center. Been going here for 5 years and it's a frequent spot for locals Vietnamese families as well.

I usually get the house special Pho which is about $9. It includes everything from flank, brisket, tripe, meatball and of course all the bean sprouts, limes and basil.

As an appetizer, I recommend the summer rolls (non fried), and the spring rolls (fried) ones. There are 2 to an order and around $4.

Get a vietnamese coffee if you like it. It's extremely strong with condensed milk. If you are a coffee lover, you won't regret it.

There is plenty of seating, parking is easy (in the back), and service is quick. I've never had slow service here. You walk up to the register when you are done to pay.
Sarah K.
Washington, DC
1/11/2016
I have been to this location several times. I cannot get enough of it. The Bahn Xeo is amazing with the bits of pork belly and shrimp sprinkled on the crepe like shell. Very tasty. The Pho was also delicious, nothing wrong with a well prepared bowl of that!
Chanhong L.
Alexandria, VA
1/10/2016
I'm giving Hai Duong four stars instead of five because they have little to no vegetarian options, which really disappointed me. However, if judging on taste alone, I would give Hai Duong 5 stars. I ordered the ca kho to (Vietnamese braised catfish in claypot), and it was super delicious. This was my first time ever ordering ca kho at a restaurant after growing up with it, and flavor-wise, I think I might like the restaurant version better than my mom's. The fish was cooked to perfection with no fishy aftertaste. My only qualm about the dish as a whole is that it was only served with rice, no vegetables. Usually, my mom cooks it with pineapples or tomatoes and scallions. I didn't see any hints of scallion in the pot.

As far as wait time, my dish came out a little later than my friends' dishes because it was a special menu item, but the overall wait time was still super quick (I went to the bathroom after ordering, and when I came back, my friends' food was already on the table). I definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a quick meal at Eden (and don't mind eating meat).

Side note: Like a lot of Vietnamese restaurants, you can only use card here if you spend up to a certain amount.
Kevin W.
Manhattan, NY
4/6/2015
Good stuff here - and that's saying a lot for a place where there's no shortage of decent Vietnamese food.

After eating 2 days worth of pho, I was looking to mix things up. We only had a few days in DC/NOVA so Eden Center was the place to go. I've tried pretty much all the restaurants here but never hit up Hai Duong. It ended up being a good choice.

I ordered the Com Boc Luc Lac (beef and rice) and also the Bahn Xeo. The latter was one of the dishes that folks said they were known for so I gave it a shot. The flavor was nice and the ingredients were very fresh. Personally I enjoyed it very much, but really liked the Boc Luc Lac even more. The beef was tender and the sauce accompanying the rice was awesome. I could see myself ordering that dish every day. Too bad we don't have anything in NYC that tastes comparable (or is priced similarly as well).

I'd definitely hit this place up again for the food. The service was okay but this place gets crazy busy on the weekends so make sure you get here early (not to mention the parking in Eden Center is literally hell on earth after 11am on the weekends).
Mary T.
Arlington, VA
1/18/2016
One of my go to Vietnamese restaurant in Eden Center when I want a quick satisfying meal. They're always fast with their service. They have a decent size menu which always satisfies my Vietnamese cravings! They have all the staples here...pho, vermicelli, shakey beef, spring rolls, egg rolls etc.

It's not the fanciest of places but the tables are always clean. You may get a server that doesn't speak the greatest English but as a Vietnamese person that doesn't speak Vietnamese, I never had any issues with my ordering. The only time I did get a wrong order was when I ordered in Vietnamese..oops
Vina V.
Washington, DC
9/6/2015
So...much...happy. I am from Little Saigon in Orange County, the largest Vietnamese population outside Viet Nam and have been a bit homesick for delicious Vietnamese food since moving out to DC. I found about Eden Center through a friend and immediately made a trip out!

Overall, this restaurant made me so happy and definitely fulfilled my Vietnamese food cravings. Here is what I ordered:

-Ban Xeo: Vietnamese crepe filled with shrimp, pork, and bean sprouts. Like a lot of the reviews say, they do a really good job at serving up this dish. Some places are too crispy or not crispy enough and this was done perfectly.

-Bun Bo Hue: Spicy beef noodle. This is my favorite dish and I'm so happy to find a place that serves up awesome Bun Bo Hue. For me it was lacking a bit of richness and spiciness but that's pretty common for a restaurant that does not specifically specialize in Bun Bo Hue.

-Bun Cha Ha Noi: Noodles with sausage Ha Noi style. A medley of sausage, fish sauce, fresh veggies, and rice noodles.

-Com Tam Hai Duong: House special broken rice. This was really tasty--there were a lot of different elements to the dish including pork, fried egg, steamed egg, pickled veggies, shredded pork, and some lettuce and cucumber.

I did not think the service was bad as some others have mentioned, but I guess I grew up in an environment where if you want something you ask for it instead of waiting for someone to come to your table. All the servers were really nice.
Victoria N.
Charlottesville, VA
1/2/2016
Our Eden go-to. I usually get pho or spring rolls but I've had banh xeo before and it is divine. It's ginormous, piping hot, and so good. Hai Duong has a lot of choices I normally can't find in pho restaurants at home so I def will try something new each time.
Vy L.
Washington, DC
7/30/2015
This review is based solely on the food:
We ordered the pho, ban xeo (Vietnamese crepes), and bo luc lac (shaking beef). All of the dishes were perfect, just like how authentic Vietnamese food should taste!!!

My boyfriend ordered the pho, I tried some and it was good. Not too fatty with the perfect amount of herbs in the broth (legit pho y'all).

As for the banh xeo..THE BEST ever. IT was so crispy and cooked to perfection stuffed with a lot of shrimp (I told them no pork). The portion was huge btw, it was served with a bunch of Vietnamese herbs and lettuce. It can get a bit messy because you are supposed to use your hands when you eat it...So basically you can either opt to use your hands and make a wrap with the herbs, lettuce and banh xeo (dipping it in fish sauce) or you can just mix it all together and pour fish sauce over it.

The bo luc lac was so good. The beef was served on a bed of lettuce and tomatoes, topped with a soy based sauce. DEFINITELY BOMB DOT COM. The meat was really flavorful and cooked just right.

Definitely will be coming back for the banh xeo and the bo luc lac...and I know my boyfriend will definitely be coming back for the pho!
Victoria E.
Arlington, VA
3/18/2016
Pho here is really good and their bbh too! I'm also in love with the seafood rice clay pot. This one is in the Eden center but they also have 2 other locations in Anannadale, one in the Soul Center next to honey pig izakya and the other one next door to Kung fu tea.
David H.
Arlington, VA
7/12/2015
Very solid spot for Vietnamese in Eden center. Garden spring rolls may be the best in eden center (peanut sauce is so good), and the fried spring rolls are great too.

The bo luc lac (shaky beef) is really good. $3 extra for fried rice but that was tasty too. And a big portion. Lemongrass chicken is also good, as well as the pho and other noodle soups.
Chay T.
Washington, DC
9/24/2015
I cannot get enough of this place. If I got the hankering for any sort of Vietnamese food, I would go out of my way to come here.

Ambiance: The restaurant isn't the fanciest place to dine. However, it has the necessities: tables, utensils, and chairs. There is a TV, usually with the news on a low volume. No music. I have been here three times and only the first was a little awkward (due to the lack of chatter). The other times, the somewhat large restaurant has been very busy.

Service: The first time I was here, we had to track down the waiter for water refills. Ironically, Hai Duong was slow. We were one of two groups in the restaurant. The other two times, our water has been refilled again and again and again, before we even reach the bottom of the glass!

Food: Where to begin? If only I had retained photos. I have ordered the duck rice soup (congee,) the bun bo hue (spicy beef noodle soup), crispy pan-fried noodles with seafood, and the rare steak and meatball pho.
I have been equally impressed with all of the items I have ordered, with the exception of the bun bo hue. For some reason, the broth was off and the dish had minimal spice.
The pho was absolutely delectable. The broth was so homey, the flavors deeply developed, and not overly salted. The noodles were perfectly al dente, not overcooked. The rare steak was true, not something I would have pulled from the frozen section at the supermarket. The meatballs COULD have been more moist, but they were still pretty dang great.
The pan-fried noodles are tasty! I loved how piping hot this was delivered to our table. There was a bit too much sauce, but otherwise we woofed it down.
The duck rice soup...man I have been searching to eat this for years. It brought back so many wonderful memories. The broth is well developed and the duck moist. I would order this again and again if it weren't for my want to try the rest of the menu.

Hai Duong has quickly become my restaurant staple in the DMV. I only wish their beverage menu contained more drink choices. Of course, it would be easy to walk to the many cafes in the shopping center, but I think Hai Duong would create amazing bubble tea smoothies.
Yuan G.
Washington, DC
3/23/2016
Authentic, fresh Vietnamese food. Will definitely go back.